Samsung Medical Center recognised for smart logistics system

Samsung Medical Center recognised for smart logistics system

Samsung Medical Center, a tertiary hospital in South Korea, has achieved recognition from the country’s government for its smart logistics system.

Before the new year, it was awarded a “Minister of Health and Welfare Commendation for Medical ICT Merit” for its smart logistics system, which was recognised as a model for leading digital transformation in the medical field.

The commendation is given to organisations that lead technology-based medical care and contribute to the establishment of an institutionalised foundation. 


As part of its smart hospital transformation, SMC has set its “four zeros” goal in smart logistics: no billing, no inventory, no warehouse, and unmanned. 

It has started out by piloting unmanned vehicles such as automated delivery robots to replace personal transportation, which takes up 74% of the hospital’s logistics. Daytime logistics will also be converted to nighttime logistics. The transition is expected to be completed by the second half of 2022.

SMC claims that these changes have reduced COVID-19 infections by improving the hospital’s congestion level. “Therefore, it has become an environment where you do not have to worry about managing medical supplies at a treatment site but focus more on patient care,” the hospital said.


Aspiring to become a robot-driven smart hospital, SMC continues to roll out efforts and promote digital innovation.

In September, the hospital signed its second memorandum of understanding with telecommunications firm KT Corporation to deploy robotic technologies. It disclosed that some of the robots will be able to deliver blood across surgery operation rooms, perform disinfection, and bring medical items to doctors. The two organisations first partnered to put up a 5G network in the hospital in 2019.

After securing a Stage 6 certification for the HIMSS Infrastructure Adoption Model (INFRAM) in November, SMC is now working to get a global-first Stage 7 Certification. The eight-stage ladder helps organisations assess and map healthcare infrastructure and technology capabilities needed to reach their infrastructure goals while meeting the model’s international benchmarks and standards.

Read More

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Kraken Onion Market